KCSB-FM 91.9

Community Service and Educational Broadcasting

Freak Power Ticket (Eclectic)


A "wondrous boat ride" exploring rock 'n' roll & other music, the counter cultural, cinema, pop culture, oddities, etc. Buy a ticket, take the ride.

Mon Jun 4th 2012 11.00am–12.00pm

R=listener request. N=music new at the station. L=local music. Your purchases using the Buy it! links help support the station.

Time zone: pacific


N/A “N/A” MP3 Other (n/a 2016) —Yacht Rock Episode 1 [intro: excerpt]: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMTI8vg7A5U


Grizzly Bear “While You Wait for the Others”
from Veckatimest MP3 Album (Warp Records 2009) —The original version of a song re-recorded with guest lead vocalist Michael McDonald, a track included later in this playlist.


The Bird and the Bee “MANEATER”
composed by Daryl Hall, John Oates & Sara Allen
from Interpreting the Masters, Vol. 1: (A Tribute to Daryl Hall and John Oates) MP3 Album (Blue Note 2010)


Nicki Bluhm and the Gramblers “I Can't Go For That (No Can Do) - Van Session”
from Van Session: Hall & Oates Cover MP3 Single (www.nickibluhm.com 2012) —Hall and Oates - I Can't Go For That - Cover by Nicki Bluhm and The Gramblers - Van Session 17, (Performed between Phoenix, AZ and Pioneertown, CA)


De La Soul “Eye Know”
composed by J Dilla
from 3 Feet High and Rising MP3 Album (Tommy Boy 1989) —Music bed for voiceover: samples "Peg" by Steely Dan.


N/A “N/A” MP3 Other (n/a 2016) —Yacht Rock Episode 1 [excerpt: DOOBIE BROTHERS' You Never Change sample]: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMTI8vg7A5U


The Doobie Brothers “You Never Change”
from Minute By Minute MP3 Album (Rhino/Warner Bros. 1978) —Reissued digitally 2004.


The New Pornographers “It's Only Divine Right”
composed by Dan Bejar
from Electric Version CD Album (Matador 2003) —Original version of a song reinterpreted by New Pornographers' fans as part of an online contest (see below).


Dancebuffet [youtube user name] “It's Only Divine Right by Michael McDonald (Challenge #2)”
from N/A MP3 Other (n/a 2007) —Winner of The New Pornographers' Challenge Contest: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFr1e37VqPc


N/A “N/A” MP3 Other (n/a 2016) —Yacht Rock Episode 1 [excerpt: Jimmy Messina down & out]: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMTI8vg7A5U


Pickin' On Series “What a Fool Believes”
from Pickin' On the Doobie Brothers: A Bluegrass Tribute MP3 Comp (CMH Records 2005) —Music bed for voiceover/back announcement.


Billy Paul “Takin' It to the Streets”
from Only the Strong Survive MP3 Album (Assorted Music, Inc. d/b/a Philadelphia International Records 1977) —Cover of the Michael McDonald-era Doobie Brothers' hit song.


Millie Jackson “THIS IS IT”
from Millie Jackson: 21 of the Best (1971-1983) MP3 Album (Ace Records 1994) —Cover of the Kenny Loggins hit (which featured Michael McDonald on backing vocals).


The Isley Brothers “SUMMER BREEZE”
from 3 + 3 MP3 Album (sony music entertainment 1973) —Cover of Seals & Croft's hit 1972 song.


Dr. Octagon “Blue Flowers Revisited”
from Dr. Octagonecologyst MP3 Album (DreamWorks 1996) —Radio edit: music bed for voiceover. Song briefly interpolates Christopher Cross's "Sailing."


Grizzly Bear ft. Michael McDonald “While You Wait for the Others”
from While You Wait for the Others - Single MP3 Single (Warp Records Limited 2009) —Guest vocals by this icon of really smooth music.


N/A “N/A” MP3 Other (n/a 2016) —Yacht Rock Episode 1 [excerpt: Hall & Oates songwriting contest!]: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMTI8vg7A5U


Daryl Hall & John Oates “Alley Katz”
from Along the Red Ledge MP3 Album (RCA Records Label 1978) —Excerpt: outro, music bed for closing comments. This track is the song sampled as the closing riff of "Yacht Rock" episode 1.

Like everything else, times are approximate. Spinitron and this station are not liable for errors or omissions.