KPOO San Francisco

KPOO Listener-Supported Radio


Sounds of the City (Music)

Straight Ahead Jazz with Jazz Calendar at 9 PM

Sun Jan 20th 2019 7.00pm–10.00pm

R=listener request. N=music new at the station. L=local music. Your purchases using the Buy it! links help support the station.

Time zone: pacific


Harold Maybern “A Few Miles From Memphis (Live)”
from The Iron Man: Live at Smoke —Harold Mayberntenor saxophonist Eric Alexander, bassist John Webber, and drummer Joe Farnsworth –


Nina Simone “Why (The King of Love is Dead)”
from 'Nuff Said (RCA Victor)


Coleman Hawkins and His Orchestra “Shadows”
from The Hawk Swings (Crownstar Records) —Coleman Hawkins – tenor saxophone Thad Jones – trumpet Eddie Costa – piano, vibraphone George Duvivier – bass Osie Johnson – drums


Charlie Haden “we Shall Overcome”
from Steal Away (verve) —charlie haden bass, hank jones piano


Charles Earland “Suite For Martin Luther King (Part 1 & 2:”
from Charles Earland in concert – live in concert (Prestige) —Charles Earland -Keyboards ; Kenneth Nash - congas, George A. Johnson Jr. - drums, Maynard Parker - guitar, Dave Hubbard, Aurell Ray, Darryl Washington, Jimmy Vass - saxophone, ron carter-bass,


Steve Davis Quintet “The King Is the Man Who Can”
from The Jaunt (Criss Cross Jazz) —Steve Davis (Tb) Eric Alexander (Ts) Mike DiRubbo (As) Bruce Barth (P) Ugonna Okegwo (B) Eric McPherson (D)


Ravi Coltrane “One Wheeler Will”
from Blending Times (Savoy)


Ravi Coltrane “A Still Life”
from Blending Times (Savoy)


Ravi Coltrane “shine”
from Blending Times (Savoy) —Ravi Coltrane, Tenor, Drew Gress – bass, Charile Haden – Bass, Luis Perdomo – Piano


Eddie Harris “that's enough”
from Here Comes The Judge (Columbia)


Charles Mingus “weird nightmare”
from Mingus Revisited (Mercury)


Charles Mingus “Eclilpse”
from Mingus Revisited (Mercury) —Charles Mingus, bass; Ted Curson, trumpet; Jimmy Knepper, trombone; Eric Dolphy, alto sax, bass clarinet, flute; Booker Ervin, Joe Farrell, tenor sax; Yusef Lateef, tenor sax, flute; Paul Bley, piano #1,3,5; Dannie Richmond, drums


The Cannonball Adderley Quintet “Hippodelphia (Live)”
from Swingin' In Seattle, Live At The Penthouse 1966-67 —CANNONBALL ADDERLEY alto saxophone, NAT ADDERLEY cornet, JOE ZAWINUL piano, VICTOR GASKIN bass, ROY MCCURDY drums


Charlie Mingus Jazz Workshop “Pithecanthropus Erectus” Other Single (Atlantic Jazz) —Charles Mingus, bass; Jackie McLean, alto sax; J.R. Monterose, tenor sax; Mal Waldron, piano; Willie Jones, drums

Like everything else, times are approximate. Spinitron and this station are not liable for errors or omissions.