WORT-FM Listener-Sponsored Community Radio

Diaspora (Music)


Listening to music from many cultures reveals we are all made of the same stuff. Diaspora is a celebration of humanity, of the common things that tie us all together in a world that often seems perilously fractured.

Thu May 2nd 2013 9.00am–12.00pm

R=listener request. N=music new at the station. L=local music. Your purchases using the Buy it! links help support the station.

Time zone: central

ARTIST “Selection”
from Disc (LABEL)

Zoe Keating “Tetrishead”
from One Cello x 16: Natoma CD Album (Zoë Keating 2005)

Kronos Quartet “White Man Sleeps (2nd movement)”
from Pieces of Africa (Elektra 1992)

Esperanza Spalding “Loro”
from Junjo CD Album (Ayva 2006)

Anat Fort Trio “Clouds Moving”
from And If CD Album (ECM 2010)

John R. Burr “Leaving”
from Piedmont Avenue (Compass)

Omar Sosa Sextet “Solstice”
from Across the Divide (Half Note 2009)

9:40 Am “BREAK”

Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni Ba “Jama Ko” CD Album (Out Here 2013)

10:00 Am “BREAK”

Louis Mhlanga “International Rumba”
from Tinganekwane (Sheer Sound)

Rajery “Mandehandeha”
from Sofera (Marabi www.marabi.net 2007)

Habib Koité & Eric Bibb “Send Us Brighter Days”
from Brothers in Bamako (Stony Plain Music 2012)

Blind Thomas “Wanda Russel's Blues”
from Fonotone Records 1956-1969 (Dust To Digital)

10:31 Am “CALENDAR”

Ulas Hazar “Nihavent Longa”
from Virtuoso (Acoustic Music)

ISSA “Nubian Steps”
from So Bouzouk (Institut du Monde Arabe)

Idham al-Madfai “Ana Blayak”
from Baghdad (EMI Music Arabe)

11:00 Am “BREAK”

Zoe Keating “The Path”
from Into the Trees CD Album (Self Released 2010)

Carolina Chocolate Drops “Leaving Eden” CD Album (Nonesuch 2012)

Portland Cello Project “The Dream: Midday Light, She Travels Effortlessly”
from Thousand Words CD Album (Sad Rabbit 2010)

Portland Cello Project “The Dream: Into the Twilight”
from Thousand Words CD Album (Sad Rabbit 2010)

Zoe Keating “Escape Artist”
from Into the Trees CD Album (Self Released 2010)

11:27 Am “BREAK”

Pedro Soler & Gaspar Claus “Guajira Borrachita”
from Barlande (Infine)

Jan Garbarek “In Praise of Dreams” (ECM 2005)

Huong Thanh “Bakida”
from Dragonfly (ACT Music)

Sia “Breathe”
from Colour the Small One CD (Astralwerks)

Zulya “For M.”
from Elusive (Westpark Music 2002)

Stornoway “We Are The Battery Human”
from Beachcomber's Windowsill (4Ad)

Vampire Weekend “Oxford Comma (clean)”
from Vampire Weekend (XL Recordings)

Like everything else, times are approximate. Spinitron and this station are not liable for errors or omissions.